Posted by: thewhitesintokyo | September 22, 2009

Boredom + Japan = Awesome

At this point in our time in Japan, otherwise bizarre and uniquely Japanese things are starting to seem normal, even mundane.  For instance, yesterday Rachael and I saw a giant lifelike beetle sculpture (probably the size of a car) hanging off of someone’s apartment balcony.  We simply said, “There’s a beetle on that balcony.  Yep.”  And we moved on with our shopping.

Every once in a while though, the romance and fun of living here kicks in.  I can’t say I’m 100% proud to publish a daydream, but this was one for the books.  (Keep in mind that my Halloween costume for at least 4 or 5 years was a ninja and last spring we toured a castle that had “nightingale” floors to ward off ninja intruders.)

When I looked out our window Saturday morning, I saw two guys working on the roof next door.  For at least a good minute or two, I totally zoned out and an entire ninja fight scene played out in my head between these two guys.

As they each pulled out swords (again, hardcore Brad daydream), they jumped from roof to roof like in Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon or House of Flying Daggers. When I came to, I was literally looking at the roof tiles of a completely different building imagining that the green tiles were sliding off the edge of the building because of the ensuing battle at the apex of the roof.

Alright, call me a nerd, but this was one awesome daydream, and here’s the photo so you can give it a shot too.  The only thing it’s missing are the nearby roofs onto which the two heroes might leap or slide in your version.

Ninja Warriors

The Mighty Ninja Warriors

Responses

  1. Bradley, I love you. I’m sitting here in the hospital at Elliott’s bedside… and this just took me away, if only for a moment. You crack me up!

    • Good! Everyone needs a little escape sometimes…and some of us (ahem) more than others. Great news about Elliott’s eyes, and hopefully those lungs and muscles start working better soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

