Posted by: thewhitesintokyo | October 7, 2009

TYPHOON DAY?!?!?!?!

Typhoon DayRemember way back with me…to your school days growing up. Sharp pencils, heavy backpacks, and days off of school from typhoons.

Or, if you’re like me, you’ve never experienced the third on the list. I just got a call from my principal that school has been canceled for today because of the typhoon (hurricane) that is currently passing through Tokyo. So, at 5:32am, my job is to continue one phone tree and begin another so that all families know we do not have school today. Seems like an antiquated system to me, but so far it seems to be working out just fine.

So, apparently we’ll be staying inside today since it’s raining buckets and super windy right now. Apparently, two years ago a typhoon timed perfectly with Super Bowl Sunday and the time difference to Tokyo. The teachers got the call, flipped on the TV, and around 6 or 7 in the morning, watched the Super Bowl live. Now THAT’S a day off.

Our first “typhoon day.” Awesome. (Oh, and mom, don’t worry about the typhoon, should be over by tomorrow).

Typhoon Path

Responses

  1. Hahaha, this is awesome! As long as the typhoon’s not threatening, I see no issue. I’ll let you know when that happens at Luther… more likely to have a Corn Drought Day.

    • I remember the Corn Drought Day of ’76. It was a behemoth.

      The sky is blue right now, but our building is swaying a bit…that’s weird (super windy).

  2. I was just enjoying some old posts, and this one made me laugh. Growing up in Florida means I’m familiar with hurricane days, which are probably quite similar!


Leave a Reply

Categories

