Posted by: thewhitesintokyo | December 15, 2009

Tokyo, minus the Terrace

Unless you’re here by accident, anyone reading this blog must be familiar with Rachael’s successful launch of http://www.TokyoTerrace.com earlier this year.  Through this blog, Rachael’s passion for food has accelerated and grown and I’ve had the great privilege of holding on for dear life as this project has taken off.

Each week, I certainly expect doing lots of dishes, but also can look forward to incredible meals I would otherwise only get to taste in a trendy Tokyo (or Minneapolis) restaurant.  I have the best guinea pig job in the world.

Unfortunately, this happy little guinea pig has been running hopelessly on his circular treadmill for two weeks straight.

Last year, we returned home to spend the holidays with family and friends.  In an attempt to save some money, I stayed back this year, suggesting that she go home for Christmas.  Instead, Rachael was nice enough to leave early so that she could be back in Japan to spend Christmas with me.  I know, she’s a sweet one.  🙂  So, I’ve been experiencing life in Tokyo…without Tokyo Terrace.

My first dinner without her was not pretty.  In fact, it was awful.  I took what was in the fridge, added it to the carrot and pesto sauce (first non-homemade pesto I’ve had in years) that I bought at the store, and threw it all together.  So, spaghetti, bratwurst, carrots, and jarred pesto.  As these Facebook comments suggest, I should be ashamed to even post this photo, but it makes for a good story so what the heck!

“Oh gosh Brad.. I am sure it tasted good…but it don’t look all that appealing. Get Rachael back here!”

“Ha…you should see the crap I eat…”

“We heard about this! You’re lucky to have Rachael in your life!”

(My favorite) “Brad- A word of advice: please leave the food blog in Rachael’s hands. You shouldn’t even post photos like that on Facebook!”

“Yep, methinks maybe leave the foodiness to Rachael. Does Tokyo have a McDonald’s? lol”

“That looks seriously disgusting! lol”

“I heard about that little concoction too. Sorry Brad, but let’s face it, you need Rachael.”

(Even my mom couldn’t stay out of the fray) “Well I can verify that you aren’t exactly “at home” in the kitchen! Love, Maa”

So, with my emotional well-being in tatters (no, not really), I set off to make some better meals this week.  Although I went out five times (ramen, tonkatsu, sushi, McDonald’s x 2) and attended one party, that still left me with eight meals on my own.  Five of those meals involved pasta.  Three involved canned tuna.  Most involved one pan and one plate.

Of all the meals, I have to say this was my finest.  It’s still not gonna make me any big bucks in the cooking world, but it was 1.) edible, 2.) delicious, and 3.) somewhat healthy (I think).

So, I present to you my second-to-last bachelor meal: a tuna & cheddar panini with sliced avocado and a touch of wasabi, with a side of sauteed asparagus.

For my final act tonight, I caved into my cravings for a calorie infusion and hit up McDonald’s one last time.  A double quarter pounder with cheese and five-piece order of Chicken McNuggets (things aren’t served or packaged in fours here since the word for “four” is a homonym for “death”).

For some reason that bicycle trip to the store for lightbulbs, or moving, at all…doesn’t sound so appealing anymore…

Thank God my lovely wife is coming home tomorrow.

She is wonderful for so many things other than her cooking, but I have missed her (and her delicious food creations) dearly over the past two weeks.

Welcome back to Tokyo, “Tokyo Terrace!”

Responses

  1. The tuna sandwich actually looks quite tasty. You always did like making those at home, so no surprise to me that you would continue that tradition. We went through a lot of tuna in our home between you and Blake.

    As far a the McDonalds…I can’t remember the last time I had a hamburger there, but every once in awhile, I get a craving. Nothing wrong with that. It is pretty much pure sludge in your tummy.

    Glad you survived the two weeks alone and hope you enjoy a couple of weeks off.

    Thanks for the post.

    Love,
    Maa

    • Maybe that’s why it’s such a go-to meal for me. If I could do it as a child, I better be able to do it as a stranded blogger-less husband.

  2. Must say your panini and asparagus looked to be a major improvement over the pasta thingy! And doubt a couple trips to Micky Dee’s will stunt your growth. 🙂

    • Yeah, I definitely make a point to NOT go to Mickey D’s more than a handful of times annually, but it does hit the spot sometimes.

  3. Rachael welcome home and feed that young man! I love you both. Merry Christmas!

  4. […] Here is the link to Brad’s post about his 2 weeks of life without Tokyo Terrace. […]

  5. haha… thanks for a funny post. glad you have your personal chef back. merry christmas.

    • And a Merry Christmas to you. Rachael often mentions how helpful you are to her blog, so I guess my stomach indirectly thanks you too.

  6. This sounds like when I leave town to visit my family for the holidays and Mr. Wasabi is left up to his own devices. His meal du jour usually involves maybe some fruit and some lunch meat. Basically anything that requires as little effort as possible and leaves one hand free to keep playing XBox. haha!

    • And…cue my favorite comment. I can always count you Mrs. Wasabi.

      Fruit & lunch meat certainly isn’t that far from my carrot-pesto-pasta combination. And I didn’t want to strain my Wii elbow either, so that’s right up my alley.

  7. While I will never condone eating at McDonald’s, the carrot pesto pasta and the tuna panini both look like fine meals. No, they aren’t gourmet, but let’s be honest, sometimes we just need to get food in the belly!

    • Well, thanks for the pity/compassion, Scott. I certainly gave it my best shot!

  8. […] a year’s hiatus from cooking is not pleasant. When Rachael visited home for a few weeks, I survived on some pretty bizarre meals. To redeem myself after this episode of Survivor: Tokyo, I bring you this simple recipe still in a […]

  9. […] a year’s hiatus from cooking is not pleasant. When Rachael visited home for a few weeks, I survived on some pretty bizarre meals. To redeem myself after this episode of Survivor: Tokyo, I bring you this simple recipe still in a […]

  10. […] a year’s hiatus from cooking is not pleasant. When Rachael visited home for a few weeks, I survived on some pretty bizarre meals. To redeem myself after this episode of Survivor: Tokyo, I bring you this simple recipe still in a […]

  11. […] Here is the link to Brad’s post about his 2 weeks of life without Tokyo Terrace. Please take a couple minutes to check out his food journeys without the designated cook (me.) I promise you will get a little laugh out of his first attempt at making dinner. Fortunately, things did begin to look up for him a little later! […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

